Guide · AI voice agents and receptionists

What an AI receptionist costs in South Africa

The cost lines behind a monthly price, what South African providers publish, and the questions that make two quotes comparable.

Published 27 October 2026 · Facts checked 27 October 2026 · By Devincam

What you are paying for

The cost lines behind an AI receptionist
Cost lineWhat drives it
Monthly planThe provider’s platform, support and usually a bundle of minutes
Call minutesHow many calls it answers and how long they last; minutes beyond the bundle are billed per minute
Telephone number and lineForwarding calls from your existing number, or a new number; carrier charges may apply
SetupWriting what it says and asks, routing rules, testing; some providers charge once-off
IntegrationsCalendar booking, CRM records, WhatsApp confirmations, job-system look-ups
Changes and supportUpdating answers, adding scenarios and reviewing calls after launch

Published South African price points

These are the entry plans as each source published them. They are not a ranking, not a recommendation, and not Devincam’s prices. Plans differ in what a “minute” includes, what is automated and the VAT basis, so compare the full plan pages before you decide.

Published entry plans for AI receptionists in South Africa (as published; check each source for current terms)
ProviderPlanMonthly priceMinutes includedExtra minutesSetupSource
Agent HelpStarterR1,999 / month, excl. VAT150R13 / minNoneVendor page, updated 14 Sep 2026
RecevaStarterR1,290 / month on annual billing (R1,500 month-to-month); VAT basis not stated150R12 / minR3,500 once-offVendor page, checked 27 Oct 2026
BizAIVoice ValetR999 / month, excl. VAT100R3.50 / minR0WhichVoIP, verified Sep 2026
AiSkyEntryR1,999 / month billed yearly (R2,399 month-to-month)250 once-offR0.97 / minR0WhichVoIP, verified Sep 2026
SME AdvantageEssentialsR849 / monthNone; calls billed per minuteR8.50–R10.50 / minR0 self-setup; done-for-you from R6,950WhichVoIP, verified Sep 2026
AiployeeSingle lineR7,500 / month, excl. VATUnlimited AI minutes; telephone charges separaten/aR5,000, excl. VATWhichVoIP, verified Sep 2026

WhichVoIP, an independent South African telecoms comparison site, compares more options, including build-it-yourself platforms and phone systems with built-in AI receptionists. It discloses that it sells its own AI receptionist, which it does not score.

Estimating your minutes

Minutes drive most of the variable cost, so start from your own calls, not a provider’s average:

  1. Count the calls you would want answered in a month: all calls, only after-hours calls, or only calls nobody picks up.
  2. Estimate how long a typical answered call would last. A new enquiry that collects details takes longer than a “what time do you close?” call.
  3. Multiply the two, then add a margin for busy months.

Compare the result with each plan’s included minutes and overage rate. A cheap plan with few minutes can cost more than a larger plan once overage is added.

What to compare before you choose

  • What counts as a minute. Talk time only, or ringing and transfers too?
  • The overage rate, and whether the agent keeps answering when the bundle runs out.
  • Setup fee and contract. Once-off cost, minimum term, notice period, cancellation fee.
  • VAT basis. Some prices exclude VAT; some pages do not say.
  • Your number. Can you keep your existing number with call forwarding, and what does forwarding cost on your line?
  • Languages and accents. Test it with the way your callers actually speak, including code-switching. South African trade press has reported that imported voice models can struggle with local accents and latency.
  • Handing over to a person. A live transfer or a callback request? Who is notified, and how quickly?
  • What is not automatic. Booking, quoting and job-status answers each need a connection to your systems. Ask what is included and what is extra.
  • Recordings and data. Where are recordings and transcripts stored, for how long, and who can access them under POPIA?
  • A demo on your own scenarios. A generic demo line shows the voice. A demo with your own typical calls shows whether it fits.

Costs that are not on the price list

The time your team spends on missed calls, callbacks and retyping messages is real, but it is easy to overestimate. If you want to test the case, use your own numbers: how many calls go unanswered, how many of those were genuine jobs, and what a job is worth to you. The missed-call calculator on the panel-beater page does exactly that, with no assumptions of ours built in.

For a workshop, the panel-beater enquiry checklist shows what an AI receptionist should capture on every call. To see how Devincam sets one up, and what it will not do by default, read AI voice agents.

Sources

Checked 27 October 2026. Prices and policies change; follow the links for the current version.

  1. Agent Help: AI receptionist pricing Vendor-published, updated 14 September 2026.
  2. Receva: pricing Vendor-published; VAT basis not stated.
  3. WhichVoIP: AI receptionists compared Comparison site; “Last verified: September 2026”; source for the BizAI, AiSky, SME Advantage and Aiployee rows.
  4. TechCentral: Lost in translation: why AI voice agents fail South Africans Trade press, 11 June 2026.

Get a written quote with nothing left out.

Tell us roughly how many calls you get and when. We will quote the setup and monthly running costs, including minutes and telephony, before you commit.